Leicester City

The Ultimate Leicester City Experience

Leicester City, or the Foxes, are former Premier League champions and play at the slick King Power stadium. They have established themselves in the top flight and have recently played Champions League football on home soil. Their fans are always willing to get involved and their strong team always has the ability to excite. Leicester’s only Premier League triumph since their formation in 1884, came in 2015/16 when they pulled off one of the biggest shocks in footballing history, where they defied the odds and were crowned champions. Their pace, powerhouse and counter attacking football puts fans on the edge of their seats throughout the game and are fantastic entertainment for the neutral supporter.

Date Price

Sorry we don’t have any tickets available right now. Please check again soon.

Load More

We Bring You The Best Leicester City Experience

Leicester City were originally named the Leicester Fosse FC, as they originally played on a field near Fosse Road. They were formed by a group of old boys of Wyggeston school, before joining the FA in 1890. they joined the Midland league in 1891, and were elected to Division two of the Football League in 1894. They gained promotion to the First division in 1907-08 after finishing runners up, although lasted just a single season in the top flight.

Leicester Fosse suffered financial trouble which led to them trading and eventually reforming the club as Leicester City in 1919. They won the division two title in 1924-25 and recorded their second highest league finish to date in 1928-29 of runners up. The went through the first and second division a number of times until 1939. They gained promotion back to the top flight in 1954 after winning the division two title. After they were relegated again, prolific striker, Arthur Rowley scored 44 goals firing them to division one until 1969.

The Foxes won their first piece of silverware in 1964, in the League cup, as well as the community shield in 1971. They continued to go from division one, to two, and back again for most of their status as a football club. Gary Lineker was coming through the ranks in the 80s, and helped them establish themselves in the top flight. However, after his sale to Everton in 1985, they were relegated again two years later. In 1991, Leicester almost then went one step further and nearly suffered relegation to division three, but survived under Gordon Lee, after he was appointed midway through the season.

Leicester made it to the Premier League in 1993-94 via the play offs with Brian Little in charge, but after he left for Aston Villa, Mark McGhee could not save them from suffering relegation, just a year after they were promoted.

Leicester moved to their new home, the Walkers stadium in 2002-03, ending their 111 year stay at Filbert Street. However, the club fell into administration at the start of the season after a loss of TV money, a large wage bill and lower than expected fees for players to be transferred, alongside the cost of the new stadium. In 2007, Milan Manderic took over the club, but managers were struggling to work under his ownership. This eventually took its toll after they were eventually relegated to League One in 2007-08, costing manager at the time, Ian Holloway, his job.

They however came straight back to the Championship as champions, under Nigel Pearson, and then reached the Championship play offs in their first season back, although lost to Cardiff on penalties. Pearson then left the club to manage Hull, and Paulo Sousa took over. Mandaric then sold the club in 2010 to the King Power Group, leading also to their stadium name change in the King Power Stadium. The stadium is now famous for its immaculate pitch and fans getting involved for celebrations and remembrances.

Pearson returned to the club in 2011-12, and guided them to the play offs in his first full season, however lost in the semi-finals to Watford with a moment of footballing history with Troy Deeney’s last-minute winner.

Disappointment did not last long as they went up as Champions the following season and in their first season back in the Premier League, managed a great escape after seven wins in their last nine games. Claudio Ranieri was appointed ahead of the 2015-16 season, and would go on to be one of the greatest appointments in footballing history. With no pricey signings ahead of the season, the signings Ranieri made such as N’golo Kante and Christian Fuchs would go on to be instrumental as the Foxes went on to win the Premier League title, alongside unstoppable faces of Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy. The bookmakers had them as 5000/1 to win the league, and suffered a large pay out to people who had money on them to triumph. Vardy also went on to beat a Premier League record, scoring in 11 consecutive Premier League matches, and the club qualified for the Champions League for the first time in their history.

Despite spending big in the summer on the likes of Islam Slimani from Sporting CP for £28m, their joy as Champions was fairly short lived, especially after the sale of star player, Kante, and despite winning coach of the year, Ranieri was dismissed after poor league form. Craig Shakespeare took over and did help Leicester make it to the quarter finals of the Champions League, only to be knocked out by Atletico Madrid. Shakespeare was sacked in the 2017-18 season and replaced by former Southampton manager, Claude Puel. They still have a number of big names in the side, like Mahrez and Vardy, and always put on a show. Now they have consolidated themselves as a Premier League side and winning the title previously against the odds, it seems they can now push for European qualification and success in cup competitions.